Est. 1964. A strategic defensive position atop a sea cliff, the high land at the northern end of Te Papa peninsula was once part of Ōtamataha Pā. The name Taumata-Kahawai comes from it being the first place to see kahawai (fish) as they swim down Tauranga harbour. Occupied and rebuilt by the 43rd (Monmouthshire) Regiment of Foot in January 1864 when they arrived in Tauranga.
Map No. 23.
13-15 Monmouth St,
Tauranga, 3110
What today is known as Monmouth Redoubt which is currently in the process of being restored, was once a strategic defensive position atop a sea cliff, the high land at the northern end of Te Papa peninsula was once part of the populous Ōtamataha Pā and as such a portion of the area declared tapu after the 1828 massacre. The name Taumata-Kahawai comes from it being the first place to see kahawai as they swim down Tauranga harbour. This traditionally defensive position was occupied and rebuilt by the 43rd (Monmouthshire) Regiment of Foot in January 1864 when they arrived in Tauranga after serving in Calcutta, India. It became known as Monmouth Redoubt, and the women and children of Te Papa peninsula took shelter here during times when conflict with Māori seemed imminent. In 1867 the site became the headquarters of the Armed Constabulary, and in 1886 was transferred to the police.
Four Armstrong guns, similar to those used during the 1864 Battle of Gate Pā | Pukehinahina, were donated to the Tauranga Borough Council when it took over the site in 1898.
One gun was loaned to the National Army Museum at Waiouru, and others deposited with the Tauranga Heritage Collection. In 1990 the trenches were restored as a sesquicentennial project.
References
The Monmouth Redoubt by Tauranga Historical Society Blog
Monmouth Redoubt: Historic Te Papa Heritage Area by John Coster - Pages 4-5